New User? Sign Up / Forgot Your Password?
All Live
    All Live Projections

    NFL MVP Odds (07/08/14)

    John Ewing, Director of Research and Analytics, @johnewing
    By John Ewing
    2014 NFL MVP – odds to win. Will Peyton Manning repeat? Can a non-quarterback win the award? Odds courtesy of

    Reigning NFL Most Valuable Player, Peyton Manning, is the betting favorite at 3/1 odds to win the 2014 MVP award. If the Broncos' quarterback were to repeat, it would be his sixth career MVP award.

    The top five is rounded out by the Saints' Drew Brees (11/2), the Packer's Aaron Rodgers (15/2), the Patriots' Tom Brady (9/1) and Andrew Luck of the Colts (16/1).

    By comparison, the top five last year (in order): Manning (5/1), Rodgers (13/2), Colin Kaepernick (10/1), Brees (10/1) and Adrian Peterson (12/1).

    The NFL is a quarterback driven league. The first eleven players with the best odds are all signal callers. The first non-quarterbacks are LeSean McCoy, Adrian Peterson and Calvin Johnson, all with 25/1 odds.

    Quarterbacks have won six of the last seven MVP awards. Adrian Peterson was the last non-quarterback to win the award. To find the last non-quarterback/running back to win the MVP, you have to go back to 1986 when Lawrence Taylor won as a linebacker.

    Other Notable Odds
    • Jay Cutler has seen his odds improve the most year-over-year. Before the 2013 season the Bears quarterback was 60/1, Cutler is the sixth favorite at 20/1.
    • There are no defensive players with odds; last year J.J. Watt was 40/1 to win the award before the season began.
    • Johnny Manziel is a 100/1 long shot to be named the NFL's Most Valuable Player. The Browns rookie has the same odds as Joe Flacco who won the Super Bowl MVP just 17 months ago.
    • A receiver has never won the award. Top pass catchers with the best odds: Calvin Johnson (25/1), Demaryius Thomas (66/1) and Jimmy Graham (66/1).
    Odds to win the 2014 NFL MVP

    Player Odds
    Peyton Manning 3/1
    Drew Brees 11/2
    Aaron Rodgers 15/2
    Tom Brady 9/1
    Andrew Luck 16/1
    Jay Cutler 20/1
    Matthew Stafford 20/1
    Colin Kaepernick 25/1
    Cam Newton 25/1
    Russell Wilson 25/1
    Robert Griffin III 25/1
    LeSean McCoy 25/1
    Adrian Peterson 25/1
    Calvin Johnson 25/1
    Matt Ryan 33/1
    Nick Foles 40/1
    Ben Roethlisberger 50/1
    Eli Manning 50/1
    Philip Rivers 50/1
    Tony Romo 50/1
    Marshawn Lynch 50/1
    Demaryius Thomas 66/1
    Matt Forte 66/1
    Jamaal Charles 66/1
    Dez Bryant 66/1
    Brandon Marshall 66/1
    Julio Jones 66/1
    Jimmy Graham 66/1
    Joe Flacco 100/1
    Johnny Manziel 100/1
    Andy Dalton 100/1
    Eddie Lacy 100/1
    Arian Foster 100/1
    Rob Gronkowski 100/1
    Alex Smith 150/1
    Alfred Morris 150/1
    C.J. Spiller 150/1
    Antonio Brown 150/1
    DeMarco Murray 200/1
    Frank Gore 200/1

    Print This Article
    Soaring Scoring (07/10/14)
    Broncos Win Super Bowl (7/8/14)
    Want More Tips and Information? Click To Register!





    The Predictalator

    05/10/2017 Highlight: With baseball season now into its second month, we can leverage our ResultsFinder tool to profile our season-to-date numbers. MLB sides and totals continue to remain extremely profitable despite a recent run of bad variance to start May. The Predictalator's record of 272-250 on sides and totals this season doesn't look all that impressive, but that's because the simulations have sided with underdogs more often than favorites. Through May 9, the Predictalator has generated $547 for an average $50 bettor. "Normal" or better sides, totals, and run lines (our strongest edges) are 14-10 (+$118) season-to-date.

    The NBA Playoffs continue on in the Second Round and the Predictalator has been profitable on both sides and totals in this year's postseason. Despite being just 16-19 (45.7%) ATS in the NBA Postseason, the Predictalator has generated $46 of total profit, which is a testament to our play value recommendations. Totals have been the real moneymaker in this postseason though, as all playabale totals are 19-15 (55.9%) for a solid profit of $168.

    The NHL Playoffs have featured some very tight lines posted by oddsmakers, which has led to lower volume for the Predictalator. That hasn't let to less profits though. The Predictalator has posted 10 NHL positions (ML, O/U, or PL) in May, going 8-2 (80%) on those positions for a profit of $87. It is rare to find a big edge in the NHL this late in the year, but the Predictalator continues to chip away on small edges to provide solid returns.

    Check out the Shop now to learn more.

    Recommended Features



    MLB Risers & Fallers - Power Rankings
    Mark Dankenbring discusses the biggest risers and fallers in our MLB Power Rankings over the course of the past week.

    MLB Futures Picks - Who to bet for the World Series
    Each Monday during the 2017 season, we will review free MLB Futures value picks.



    All registered accounts are subject to our General Terms Of Service. Content is intended for informational purposes only. This is not a gambling website.

    FSTA Member 2015
    Home | The Predictalator | Blog | Privacy |  Media Contact |  B2B Solutions |  Sitemap |  Customer Support | 
    © 2010-2015, LLC. All rights reserved. | Site Designed by